Skip to Main Content

Board of Commissioners

Alice Smith

Alexis Mosteller
Vice Chairman

Karen Lowry

Alberta Anthony

Johnnie Darby

The Board of Commissioners of this Housing Authority meets in regular sessions on a quarterly schedule on the second Monday of the months of March, June, September, and December.

Called meetings of the Board of Commissioners may be held at any time during the year when there is important and timely business to consider.

Meetings of the Board of Commissioners of this Housing Authority are held at 6:00 pm at the administrative office. The office of this Housing Authority is located at 221 California Street, York, South Carolina.

The Board of Commissioners of the Housing Authority of the City of York, South Carolina, is composed of five persons duly appointed by the City of York, South Carolina. These five Housing Authority Commissioners volunteer their time and capabilities to benefit our organization and the people we serve. Commissioners perform a number of tasks as they conduct the business of their office.

They attend Board Meetings of the Housing Authority, where they participate in Board discussions and make decisions;

They establish policies on personnel, grievance procedures, procurement, admission, eviction, and qualifications that applicants and residents must meet to obtain housing or remain housed;

They work with the Executive Director and staff to ensure that Board sanctioned policies and procedures are followed in daily operations;

They review and approve budgets to ensure compliance with federal and local laws and requirements;

They interact with local, state, and federal governments and agents thereof to ensure that residents of this Housing Authority are well served.